October 28, 2008

  • #1 reason for failure



    Scott Robert photography
    a brand new look at life www.scottrobertphotography.com [new images and music]

    #1 Reason for Failure

    PhotographersIMG_1332
    Most people don't respect photography as a legitimate career path but not these photographers. They are highly motivated artists who are willing to sacrifice much to fulfill their passion and dream.

     
    Why People Fail at Becoming Pro Photographers
     
    #1 Reason- People do not respect the process of becoming a Pro Photographer
     
    Photography is like any other career and in fact probably harder then most. Just think of how many successful, fulltime photographers that you are friends with, probably only a handful. If this is the case, why would a person think that it is easier than becoming an engineer, CPA, pediatrician, architect, attorney, etc.?
     
    Let's examine the cost and investment of typical careers as of 10/29/2008
     
     
     
     
    If this is the typical cost and career path, to make $53,000 per year as a photographer, one would expect to spend at least 6 years of full time study and well over $100,000 if it is like any other career.
     
    Do most people make this kind of a commitment or investment into their photography career? NO. I would say the average person tries out wedding photography for a year or two, they take low cost photography seminars that come to their area because traveling to study under a top photographer would be too much of a sacrifice and quit soon after because they didn't make at least $40,000/yr.
     
    If a person is only going to invest this little into my industry, it is really a slap in the face to me. Why would a person respect any other career with more time, effort and financial sacrifice and yet when it comes to photography, people do not nearly invest the time and money it would take to earn a college degree?
     
    The highly successful are not afraid to invest in themselves and make HUGE SACRIFICES for their career. Becoming a professional photographer is tough but very doable with the right resources so be prepared  to spend many years and make a large financial sacrifice if you really want to make it.
     
    I am actually tremendously proud of many of my students, some people look down at them for attending so many of my workshops but I can honestly say, the people who come the most, succeed the most. Many have created a photography career for themselves or have tremendously increased their bookings and rates within just a year or two which is unheard of! Most of them spending less than $12,000 going to my workshops and getting a chance to see the world at the same time and creating a successful career for themselves!
     
    Give me $115,000 and 6 years of your time and I will guarantee you will make more than $54,000 a year with photography! If you want to become a professional photographer, respect the industry and learn, learn, learn!
     

    2009 Scott Robert Next Level Workshops
    A revolutionary way of learning through personal mentorship 
     
    2008  was a phenomenal year for the Scott  Robert  Next Level World  Tour. We went to France, Spain, The Caribbean, California, New York & Canada. We are extremely pleased to see that many of our alumnus are prospering in their photography business regardless of economical situation.   Listen to their Success Stories and view slide shows
     
    2009 is gearing up to be even more outstanding with a new and improved program:
    The SR Next Level Learning Experience. Expand your business to new levels of success despite today's economic challenges. Our new format will consist of 4 days with practicum and lectures on 6 pillars. 
     
    I. Lighting
    II. Posing
    III. Composition
    IV. The Art of Post Processing
    V. The Business of Photography (Tactics and  Strategies)
    VI. 7 Principles For Living the Extraordinary Life
     
    2009 Workshops
     
     
     

    I currently use the below equipment, click for more info...
    Canon5D
    Canon24-105F4IS
    Canon70-200F4IS
    www.scottrobertstore.com toview more equipment recommendations

     
     

    Scott Robert
    Next Level
    Workshops
    Join the Revolution...
     
    2008 Workshop Images
     

     
    2009 WorldTour
    Las Vegas
    Venice, Italy
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Montreal, Canada
    Beijing, China
    Los Angeles, CA
    and more!
     
     

     
    my-story
     
    my-iphone
    new pics!
     
    my-face
     
    my-official
     
    my-family
     
    my-gear
     

     

     


    Scott Robert Lim's Facebook profile

Comments (20)

  • Thanks for this post Scott.  I am deeply committed to these principles - It is true - if you aren't willing to invest in learning how to succeed in this career, YOU WILL FAIL!  You won't make it thinking you can just go out there without training and be successsful.  Make an investment and learn photography: the technical, the art, and the business, and you will have the tools for a viable business.  The 2009 destinations look fantastic!  If this is something you want to pursue, you'd be crazy not to sign up!  As a matter of fact, I think I might just sign up right now...

  • I'd like to take one of your workshops one day.

  • Scott is right! I love photography, it’s my passion and it’s a place where I can escape to.  I have few people who have looked down on me.  My parent of course doesn’t think that this is a real career and that I need to be a doctor or a lawyer to make good money and live happy.  What’s the point of making a lot of money at a job you hate? Today while I was talking to my supervisor about photography, she said something which hit me a bit hard, “don’t be nervous about photography, it’s not something you are going to get into as a career.”  The words just keep repeating in my head over and over again. All I know is that I just want to get out there and prove her wrong!
    I have to say, coming into photography was harder than I thought but I’m passionate about it and eager to learn more.  Taking Scott’s workshop really helps.  The wonderful people I meet are also a gift that I was able to take back home with me. Each and everyone is so inspiring, their journey to get where they are now is just amazing! I can’t wait till 2009! I’m hoping to change my life.  Thanks Scott and everyone from the SR Family!!!  
    Like what Tauran said, “You’d be crazy not to sign up!” 
    Sorry for such a long comment, I just feel inspire right now!!!

  • Everybody who's interested in starting a career in wedding photography NEEDS TO TAKE SCOTT'S CLASSES. It has literally changed the lives of many of his students. And I'm not exaggerating when I say I would not be where I am today if it were not for him.

    Btw, I was really surprised when you quoted the average salary of wedding photographers as $77k because most in the industry are barely surviving (because they don't take your classes!). The numbers you used may be a little outdated, because when I ran the search myself, it showed the average salary as $46k. Regardless.... we're not aiming for average here. ;)

  • I remember reading about a similar post you made sometime in the past. I'm hoping to be able to take action this time and take your workshops. Thanks for the post Scott!

  • @junshien - Thanks for the update Junshien!! Those numbers did seem a little high but I ran those numbers 9 months ago!! The market has made a correction. More and more competition due to dropping DSLR prices making it even harder to make money with photography. If people are going to make it in this industry, they have to at least be in the top 10% which means out of 100 photographers, they have to be better than 90 of them. And of course you fall into this catagory Junshien!!!! Congrats to you and I'm really proud that you have come so far in just two years- unbelievable progress!

    The good news is, 90% (or maybe more) of the photographers are not being properly educated so if one committs to learning, they will quickly be one of the best. And you see this happening to a good portion of my students, doubling and increasing bookings immediately. Some making amazing strides after just a couple workshops. Hear the testimonies!

    This is just a life principle really, the top 10% in any field makes 80% of the money! I just saw a stat somewhere that said 9% of the worlds population control 74% of the wealth. You may see that as unfair but I don't because I know most people don't invest in themselves to be the best at anything but those that do, reap all the benefits!

  • Hey Scott, long time no talk. I totally agree with you on the value of education, it has helped me greatly
    in my business over the years. Things are still growing good over here in northern ca!
    i do think those #'s are off though, last i saw from PPA were about $36,000 on average?
    That is average and there is the possibility for 10x that, but i think thats about right and might be even a little lower now.

    --Mark

  • Give me $115,000 and 6 years of your time and I will guarantee you will make more than $54,000 a year with photography! ....Scott Robert Lim

    First things first...there is No Such thing as a Guarantee that you can promise anyone in this lifetime.

    Second, I think I'll save my $115,000.00 and use it to pay off my house, thank you very much. As far as paying and taking seminars Im all for them. But folks, you DONT need to spend thousands of dollars for a trip clear around the world to learn the basics and more, there are pleanty of places right here in America to shoot and keep our money here in America as well. Scott, you can teach all the same things here, you dont need to travel to China to learn photography, you dont need to go on a Cruise to learn lighting. What you DO NEED is to first learn everything about your camera. I am baffeled at how many people still dont know all that their DSLR's can do or how to use all the features.

    On your travel seminars, they are wonderful to see these beautiful images from far and distance places, but at what cost??? Los Angeles, Beverly Hills, San Deigo, Marina Del Ray what more could you ask for???? You dont need to travel to Paris to learn how to shoot or retouch pictures unless you like to travel, and have the time and money to go play fashion photographer.  I've seen some seminars now getting $4-$6K thousand for a three to four day trip. Thats insane! If you have that kind of money you can open a small studio in your town and pay the rent for a year. And thats just ONE seminar. Education is fine, but at what price??

    One last note. If I see one more photo of a Chinese yellow paper umbrella in a couples hands Im going to puke! Pick up a fashion magazine, anyone of them, and study how the real pros shoot, light and move around the models. You can learn so much by going to your local bookkstore and purchasing about 20 ladies magazines and studing the photos.

    Randall

  • Scott  You are so right and thanks  for sharing ...

    As a young girl I was coached  by my parents  to  seek excellence in everything  I did .. .It started  primarily with  Academia  sports " varsity Bball" and a few  hobbies..  These  principles  basically allowed myself to be  in the top 10% in school and in my corporate  life.. but I  never   really  took them  with  me in  Photography.. why  I was not taking  it seriously  ..I was  not really  investing in my self ..I was going  with the flow.... trying things here and there ..why?? well  there is no future in  photography??

      Well  I  have to admitt  that after 2 workshops with u   and  a 2 hrs lessons & practice "daily "routine of study of light  posing  ++  and reviewing  each  of my photograph  to  understand  critique  etc.. I am feeling  the change  I am even seeing a change on how  my  environment  is interacting with me.. I can only  imagine what  this will  be after   the workshops and additional training  that I will take ..  Competition will always  exist  at the bottom pit LOL!!  but clearly when  you start  getting up there I can see why there  are so few .. and  that in many  fields .. you have to have a combination of  DRIVE , PASSION , OBSESSION  OF THE PURSUIT OF EXCELLENCE, DEDICATION  and sacrifice   to get there if THIS IS WHERE   YOU WANT TO BE ...  I realized that  I had to make choice between attending  certain events partys , shopping , cosmetics  improvement  to my home ..in order   to  invest as much as i can in  my business    yes my  BUSINESS  and  career as a photographer .. My friends Family and environment is aware..it is  no longer  a "dirty secret" actually  it inspired so many people around me    and I  have gained so much more confidence in myself... i have lots to learn and so much to grow  but  there is no longer a morning when I wake up ... wondering  or feeling like I am not on the right path ...  I made the best investments in myself  this  year.. (actually better  than the ones I made on the stock market LOL))  No regrets..  This investment is paying dividends already every single day .. in improving the quality of my work,  great  friendships and new  network,  unprecedented  wealth of opportunity/possibilities  and most  importantly access to a phenomenal mentor:)  I love you Scott:)

    ML (lyssa)

    http://www.marielyssa.com

  • Hi Randall..

    I am so convince... that I would be willing to pay a workshop  with Scott for u to see what I mean (lol)... I think you will realize than. that it is unlike  anything  you ever heard off:) 

    Thanks for sharing  your  perspective  tough  which is all related to past experience .. I have been there ... trust me I actually  had reservations in going  the 1st time. I just launch my new website http://www.marielyssa.com  and got  279 emails     and still counting ..  a lot are  congrats note but can  estimate that 20-25%  for request net new business and that is after 4 days ... 90%  of the images  there are  either images I took at teh workshop or a result of the learning ... and  no u will  not see so many  yellow umbrellas lol:)   As photographers it is so important to elevate the standards  of our industry  and contribute to it's  pursuits  of excellence .. learning  from the pros is just a component  of this .. and  imagine  when you have  a pro who share 100% of what  he knows .. all I can say is  that i never got  paid to say any of this  and coming from  Canada it was a stretch .. . So  who knows ..i might see u one of these days at an SR workshop  Au plaisir, ML:)

  • i wasnt a believer at first and wondered exactly what randall is saying now, "Why in the world do I need to go to exotic destinations to learn photography?"

    I saw pics of scotts first paris workshop and was blown away...actually i didnt even know it was scott who ran the workshop. i searched deeply and desperately because i was saying to myself, "How amazing would it be to visit a foreign place AND at the same time learn photography??" I searched and searched and NO ONE offers this type of opportunity....no one except for scott. The first workshop I booked without a second thought was Scotts Spain workshop when it was first released...that was before i even knew who he was, before i even trusted him, etc. thats blind faith...giving a dude you dont even know that much money and praying that i would not be frauded in any way.

    (But 3 workshops later...) Spain was my most rockin' workshop. SF and NYC (ahem, USA destinations) was cool too but didnt rock like Spain did.

    Truth is you don't need to go far away to learn BUT after going to Spain with you scott, I have finally realized just what it is about foreign destinations and YOUR unique workshops that make learning great especially outside of a familiar USA. It is being with fellow photographers from around the world, all gathered in one foreign place that no one is familiar with, we fumble with the language together, we explore the place together, we get ah has and learn how to see the light togther, we find sweet locations to photoshoot together...TOGETHER...the COMMUNITY. I would pay for this community alone, and this community runs much much deeper than just surface level xanga comments you constantly see here. The commitment to EXCELLENCE and DEDICATION to the art (as Lyssa said) from this SRFamily baffles me to the ground at times. Sometimes I need to just take some time off just to thank God where he has brought me because it is truly unbelievable.

    I dont even know where this cash comes from. I question almost everything I get into in life to see if its worth it. If scott wasnt worth it, I would have stopped at the first workshop and bailed. Even I find these types of groups questionable...how come this dude has so many followers...are they just blind? HECK NO. again ive experienced it 3x and its raw.

    Randall, and I say this with the greatest and most sincere care and hope that you will see things a different way, you need to take a workshop for you are not seeing the larger picture and your comments continue to be tunnel visioned exactly like how i was in the beginning. "I could use this money to buy that L lens ive always dreamed of." "I could use this money to help fix my broken computer" "I could use this money to feed me for the rest of the year" -- those were some of the questions i was personally battling with.

    in the end, scott has blessed me in so many ways that a mere thank you wouldnt even be enough. he has helped me take that first step to achieve some of my dreams.

    Sorry I take quite the largest offense at these kinds of comments to scott from those who have never given him the chance because i personally have taken that risk and experienced what hes all about. It's exactly the same as if I told you I HATE YOUR PERSONALITY when in fact I never never shook your hand or even talked/met you before!!!

  • In other news... I like taking pictures!

    =Matt=

  • To all of you who have or are going to take one or more of Scotts workshops, I applaud you all. It is a leap of faith to put out alot of money in this economy right now, but at least you are learning from one of the best! Oh, I can tell Scott has a heart of gold and he cares, it shows in all the comments left here and by the people who jump over to my blog to see what I do. I'm mearly saying, learn as much as you can locally, learn everything about your gear and what it can do, then spend the $$$ with someone like Mr. Lim and learn technique, lighting, angles etc.

    There are sooooooo many shooters out there with these seminars and you sit in a room for 8 hours and yak, yak, yak! The only way to really learn is by doing, going out and exploring, seeing things differently by a educated teacher such as Scott. It should'nt take more than 1 trip with him to catch on and get the info you need, then you need to practice, pratice, practice on everyone and everything you can. Experiment with your own surroundings and where you live first, thats where most of your work is going to be created anyhow, right? How many of us are going to be hired to shoot a wedding in Spain? It could happen, anything is possable.

    So all of you who read my comments try to understand, Im not about putting down any type of learning, just trying to share some info from this old guy whos been shooting professionaly for almost thirty years. I've been to and seen so many seminars over the years and the only ones that really worked were those that got you away from your local surroundings and made you try different things.

    I wish Scott would open a school down south and just teach all week with classes on everything he has discovered that would be cool. Oh, and MATT, I like your pictures! LOL!

  • wow long comments =)

  • Interesting perspective Scott.  Hoping there is some way to get Hannah to another workshop this year. 

  • Hi Scott,

    I have lost count of the times when someone I have just met has learnt that I am a photographer has exclaimed..."oh, I love photography, I want to get into photography too! ..... everyone wants to be a photographer - well, nearly everyone, and with the advent of digital photography, so many people think that it is a simple matter to take outstanding images, and that common belief devalues the true worth of top notch professional photographers, who have spent considerable time and money to hone their skills. The trouble is, the same principles that applied to film photography apply also to digital photography, so you have to do the groundwork. So Scott,  I agree with you entirely.

    Christine

  • The other point I should mention on this subject Scott, is that successful photographers also have to be able to handle people.  I also agree that seminars and such are a vital part of learning, keeping us up to date with modern trends in photography and also giving us new ideas.

    Christine

  • Hi Scott,

    Successful photographers come about not by accident, but by a lot of learning, and hard work. I believe you have a gift for photography and teaching photography, and it is so lovely that you are following your passion and your dream.

    My first job after I left school was working as a cadet journalist for a local newspaper. I then went on to work at different jobs before going back to university as a mature age student to study photojournalism,  I was fortunate to gain entry and obtain a Bachelor of Visual Arts in Photography at the prestigious Queensland College of Art, Griffith University in Brisbane (only so many students are taken each year and the entry requirements are stringent, and you need an outstanding portfolio to even be considered).   This time was invaluable time spent learning and being taught by leading photographers in all fields at university gave me the knowledge and qualifications I needed. The mentoring and support I received at QCA (Queensland College of Art) still remains to me with this day, plus as a past student of QCA, there is still ongoing mentoring and support there for me.  Without going into a long scroll of my background in photography, I have had a lot of experience and my work has been  published in calendars, books, newspapers and several magazines and I've written articles on photography which have been published in leading Australian Photography magazines (in fact, I was writing articles on photography and other subjects before I went to university - in fact - that was one of the deciding factors that led me to go to university, because I by then had realised that this was what I really wanted to carve a career in).  I've held many solo exhibitions of my photography in local libraries, and I've even had my images aired on local televisions stations, received many awards.  But I saw so many other photographers start out their own businesses or careers in photography and fail that it made me very wary, and though I was happy to participate as a honorary photographer for many community organisations, I only turned professional recently.   So many people say to me when they learn that I'm a photographer that photography is such an exciting career, they've fallen in love with it, and then they usually go on to tell me about a stunning image that they have taken and that's what started them thinking about photography as a career. Scott, just as one swallow doesn't make a summer - one stunning image doesn't make you a successful photographer, trial and error, and being mentored by other successful photographers does.  A professional photographer has to consistently turn out first class images. Talent doesn't guarantee success in the photography field, there are so many other factors involved. 

    You are a successful photographer, and are passing on your methods to your students and that is something that is worth so much.

    Christine

  • Scott, were you and your wife in North San Diego today?  I think I might have waited on you at the restaurant I work at.

  • @itsthefriendly - well, I wish I was but I'm sorry I was not. I was in the SF bay area and flew home to Los Angeles today!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment