July 9, 2007

  • Penelope Steelo Final Cut

       

    Scott Robert photography
    view my official website www.scottrobertphotography.com

    Penelope and Steelo

     

    Penelope and Steelo (final cut)
     
    A great wedding has nothing to do with the venue but everything to do with the people.
     
    As I met with Steelo this week to drop off their source files, he mentioned to me that he couldn't even see the photos because during his honeymoon, he left his new laptop in a cab and it was stolen. As I gasped with great despair and disappointment, His very next words were, "It's just material and hopefully I will be able to replace it later..." meaning it's something that's really not important in life if you look at the big picture. Steelo and Penelope understand that the material things of this world really mean nothing. Their relationship with Christ and with their friends and family mean so much more to them than material possessions. It was so nice to be reminded of that in a real way. (Matt 6:19-20)
     
    That is why this wedding was so great. You could tell that Penelope and Steelo have invested much into building relationships with many people from all walks of life. The sincere love and joy overwhelmed this event and could not be contained and I think the images that you see reflect this.

     
    Interesting Sidebars...
     
    - Penelope requested that I use the song, "Serious" by Gwen Stefani because it is the song she sung to them when Steelo proposed on stage at one of her concerts. (Steelo dances on tour with Gwen Stefani)
     
    - The most memorable moment for me at this wedding was between Steelo's son and Steelo. Immediately after the wedding ceremony there is a picture of Steelo holding his son who was in tears. I did not know this was Steelo's son until Penelope whispered in my ear. I could tell the strong mix of emotions his son was dealing with- he wanted to feel joy for his dad but at the same time he didn't want to feel replaced by his Dad's new wife. What a great kid, despite all of this he never put a damper on the wedding. I'm sure he now realizes that in this family love grows and just gets bigger and bigger.
     
    - This was the first time the MC had to tell guest to hurry up during the money dance because there were so many people who wanted to dance with the newlyweds!!
     
    - Yes, Melissa Smith and Anjelah Johnson are BMs. Anjelah was the one who referred me to Penelope and for some reason, maybe because I knew Anjelah first and they reminded me of each other, I kept calling "Penelope"  "Anjelah" for a 10 min period- that was so embarrassing!!!!!!  It really sucks getting old. I'm glad my photography is a lot better than my mental facility. Please forgive me Penelope.
     
    - I learned the definition of the dancing term "freeze".
     

    What's In theWorks....

    Preview Photos- Jen and Jason in Napa Valley, CA

    Slideshow- Melissa andTony

    Slideshow- Jessie andJeff

    June 27-Chicago 1 day workshop,sign upnow!

    July 1- Wedding in Napa withJunshien

    July 7- Julieanne & Mark (totally "green") Wedding at the beach in Camarillo, CA

    July 11- Photo session with Anjelah Johnson-actress, model, comedian,etc...

    July 14-Sienny and Minh Wedding in SanFrancisco

    July 22- Michael & Annie Wedding inSanta Barbara

    July 23-30 Paris!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    To view comments and updated post of this entry**clickhere** 

    New Feature- Non Xanga members can commenttoo!


    Other notes:If you are interested incoming to a photography workshop and learning from the best in thebusiness- www.scottrobertnextlevel.com


     Subscribe in areader

     
     
     
    The ultimate learning experience for emergingpro photographers...
     
    - 4 daylearning tours from master photographers
     
    July 25-29
    Paris,France
    Sept9-12
    Springfield,MO
     
    - 1 daybusiness and
    photoshopworkshops
    around thecountry
    Finda workshop
     
    06/27Chicago,IL 
     
     
     
     


    GearIuse:

    LearnPhotoshop

    IMG_0740web
    MyStory*click here*


    Subscribe! Getthisblogsent to your email




Comments (23)

  • Scott I always like what you say. I couldn't agree more. I think I love people the most - photography really is a means to an end. Thanks for sharing and I love looking at the photos from this wedding.

  • Great words, and fun photos.
    You consistently inspire.

  • i loved reading the side bars about their wedding and reminder that in the midst of planning the wedding - we really need to take a moment to see the big picture. thanks for sharing.

  • Beautiful wedding!! It looks like tons of fun! I can't believe all those guys can still breakdance in those clothes

  • how do you get all these beautiful looking couples??
    well hopefully i can afford you when i get married myself!

  • they look so happy together and you captured it so well, thank you for sharing!  awesome awesome photos :)

  • Scott, you say the most beautiful things.

    Oh, and BTW, that table shot from this wedding? By far, it's the best groomsmen image I've ever seen.

    come to think of it- I can't think of any bridesmaid shots that I like better either. Just incredible.

  • One whole chapter of the book I'm gonna write someday will be devoted to name faux pas. Yes, sadly enough, I could actually fill a chapter with my very own name slip-ups. I think the funniest one was when we had gotten to know the groom as "Matt" and at the wedding when I asked if all the members of the family were ready for a photo, the groom's mom said "Everyone but Matthew." I looked right at her and said, "Who's Matthew?" I guess they still tell that story at family gatherings....LOL.

    Your posts and photos are so inspirational..once again, I thank you.

  • what gorgeous photos!!  to me it looks like scenes from an amazing movie. 

  • your entry is always please to read and learn and get inspire with..

  • Scott you wrote: "A great wedding has nothing to do with the venue but everything to do with the people."

    I agree somewhat,  the weddings I've seen that you've shot on your blog are almost all the very best venues and very high end weddings that can afford the very best and in turn make the images look even better. In my opinion its everything and everyone that makes up a great wedding. There is nothing like getting home after shooting a wonderful wedding and you feel good about yourself and the shoot, thats when I know everything just clicked that day and its a great feeling!

  • i agree...i've shot weddings that are so basic, so basic that the bride and groom actually did everything, from the flowers to the details and gifts. BUT...given all that, the couple and the guests made it a night to remember! it's the people that make up the wedding, not the material objects... as in photography, it's the photographer, and not the equipment. objects only help =)

  • This is an interesting point. I think Junshien made a great blog post about it a while ago, something to the effect that yes, usually high-end photographers end up shooting mostly high-end weddings, However the best photographers are the best BECAUSE they take amazing photos no matter what the venue or wedding budget... I forget exactly how Junshien put it but it was very well-said lol...

    Personally yeah, I'm jealous of the weddings that high-end pros get to shoot, because I think to myself "aw, anybody could take awesome photos at a wedding like that!"

    But the truth is, sure an amateur coupld probably take a nice photo of a $200 boquet or a $2,000 cake, but those aren't the shots that matter. It's the people photos that matter, and when it comes to people you can't hide a photographer's poor "people photo skills" by wearing a $1,000 tux instead of a $100 one, now can you?

    -Matt-

  • What great people!
    What a beautiful wedding!

  • Scott:

    I wrote "In my opinion its everything and everyone that makes up a great wedding."

    I wasn't disagreeing with you, I was just mentioning that a beautiful venue dosen't hurt. Oh and having great looking people too helps a lot.

    This wedding and your images you could feel the mood just by looking at the photos, the energy just screams at you, I LOVE IT!

  • Good looking people or venues or anything, I think, doesn't make the great photographs. I believe it was one of Scott's work (if I remember correctly) where a picture was taken of a couple in the stairway of the school where the couple met. School stairs! Yet it was the people, their expressions, the way they looked at each other... the photo showed their youthfulness, their love and how they felt. Good looking venues or places or backdrops are all the in the eye of the beholder anyway, one person can find a venue beautiful when another person won't,... it's really just what you make out of it. I bet nobody will disagree on the beauty of a bright smile, laughter or people fallen in love. If captured well, that would look amazing in any picture even infront of what some might consider as a not-so-stellar venue. 

    And Scott, you do it everytime. Thanks again for sharing your stunning work.

  • WOW!  Looks like such a fun wedding!  I agree with Chingyee.  You do stunning work!

  • your stuff is UNREAL. maddd props forsure!

  • For ladies,how to make a good first impression,I think the best way is mac cosmetics,Using mac makeup items,you will look more beaty than before.
      I know a good mac makeup supplier from my neighbour,They are a reliable China Mac cosmetics supplier,they wholesale Mac cosmetics for many years,the most important is their price is reasonable, definitely,the quality is top,cause I only buy top quality items.
      I seldom buy online,but I like MAC,especially in 24 brushes,180 color eyeshadow and 120 color eyeshadow,single and pigment eyeshadow,colorful lipstick and foundation,I have bouthgt for years,I have a good relationship with this mac cosmetics wholesaler,If you are interested,I can recommend,I am sure they will give a best price with shipping fee.
      Come on,my friend,don’t miss it.
     
     
     
    For ladies,how to make a good first impression,I think the best way is mac cosmetics,Using mac makeup items,you will look more beaty than before.
      I know a good mac makeup supplier from my neighbour,They are a reliable China Mac cosmetics supplier,they wholesale Mac cosmetics for many years,the most important is their price is reasonable, definitely,the quality is top,cause I only buy top quality items.
      I seldom buy online,but I like MAC,especially in 24 brushes,180 color eyeshadow and 120 color eyeshadow,single and pigment eyeshadow,colorful lipstick and foundation,I have bouthgt for years,I have a good relationship with this mac cosmetics wholesaler,If you are interested,I can recommend,I am sure they will give a best price with shipping fee.
      Come on,my friend,don’t miss it.
     

  • polo t shirt in polo  shirt,English name is derived from playing polo dress, so it is also called tommy t shirt, is a kind of pullover with short sleeves, the campaign with the front button. polo t-shirt with a usually cotton fabric 100 %, a net or muslin and knitted patterns. flag polo t shirt in a long history, as a paragraph has continued to remain one of the classical style in clothes. polo shirt in it by the classical style, is a sport of the dress, we have evolved into
     
    Why polo t shirt is better, so let us look at the several characteristics,Level of a polo shirt in the greatest advantage is that it is simple, is a rich flow of movement outfit, and suspend the t shirt, too freely. but what are the fashion to make some changes? of course it is strange to double up. the ideal effect is the same as eliminating the end of a combination of colours, miles away in great contrast, his character and had the same time, to every occasion.A good polo shirt. tommy t shirt . however, as long as a light touch can be felt "skin" on "quality, not a vestige of". therefore, in particular the quality of man this season in a high-class polo shirt is very necessary. in addition, if you like to take pictures printed, seduce, should choose a high quality, because it is quite high to, if not easy to give the cheap.The polo shirt in the this is so popular, many men in this brand is
    out of different styles of Fred Perry t shirt. for this summer are color, bold and exceeded conventional colors such as red and white and even into effect as of color styles toko related to greenness, is particularly hot.in a word, So many advantages, the polo a man of one of the first
     

  • polo t shirt in polo  shirt,English name is derived from playing polo dress, so it is also called tommy t shirt, is a kind of pullover with short sleeves, the campaign with the front button. polo t-shirt with a usually cotton fabric 100 %, a net or muslin and knitted patterns. flag polo t shirt in a long history, as a paragraph has continued to remain one of the classical style in clothes. polo shirt in it by the classical style, is a sport of the dress, we have evolved into
     
    Why polo t shirt is better, so let us look at the several characteristics,Level of a polo shirt in the greatest advantage is that it is simple, is a rich flow of movement outfit, and suspend the t shirt, too freely. but what are the fashion to make some changes? of course it is strange to double up. the ideal effect is the same as eliminating the end of a combination of colours, miles away in great contrast, his character and had the same time, to every occasion.A good polo shirt. tommy t shirt . however, as long as a light touch can be felt "skin" on "quality, not a vestige of". therefore, in particular the quality of man this season in a high-class polo shirt is very necessary. in addition, if you like to take pictures printed, seduce, should choose a high quality, because it is quite high to, if not easy to give the cheap.The polo shirt in the this is so popular, many men in this brand is
    out of different styles of Fred Perry t shirt. for this summer are color, bold and exceeded conventional colors such as red and white and even into effect as of color styles toko related to greenness, is particularly hot.in a word, So many advantages, the polo a man of one of the first
     
     

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment