November 5, 2008

  • Our 44th President is BLACK!



    Scott Robert photography
    a brand new look at life www.scottrobertphotography.com [new images and music]

    BLACK in the WHITE house

    obama Our 44th President of the United States is African- a big deal, yet not a big deal

    We Have an African President of the United States
    Does this really surprise you? 
     
    After watching the election news coverage, it is very apparent that many people have gained hope again in America, especially those Africans who thought they would never see this day, many in tears of joy and near disbelief- a great day for the African community and America. It is wonderful that the African community can gain hope and feel affirmed that they can achieve
    success in life, here in America. I really do hope this bridges some of the great divide I see in America and gives hope to others to who feel they are disadvantaged.
     
    The fact that America overwhelmingly elected an African president with a total black vote of only 12% means an overwhelming number of NON-AFRICAN voters put Obama in office- more than 60% of the voters where white. White people can take much of the credit of putting a black man in office. This clearly shows that America is open and has been open to people with new ideas despite the color of their skin. I'm not going to be ignorant and say we have no race problems in America because we do and always will, but I can say that America is truly a fantastic place to live and there is plenty of opportunity to create success despite one's background, color of your skin, or disadvantages we think we may have. Just look at how America loves Oprah Winfrey, she is one of the most influential and most wealthiest people in the world! Quite honestly, she may be even more powerful than the President as an African woman!
     
    Yes, we all have disadvantages, but it is a mistake to wait for affirmation to begin your journey to success. For example I ask the following question...
     
    Does an Asian man, Hispanic, Native American woman, quadriplegic or openly gay person have to wait until one of "their kind" gets elected to President of the United States to feel hope that they can achieve success in life? I hope not because I may never see an Asian man get elected to the high office and I'm not going to wait until that happens before I work on making my dreams happen. I will still tell my children anything in life is possible and I don't even care if an Asian ever gets elected to President of the United States. I'm proud of my culture and I'm proud of America and how it has provided a better life for all types of people.
     
    The truth is, one's success journey usually starts with NO or HARDLY ANY AFFIRMATION. But it does start with a BELIEF IN ONESELF. A belief so strong that you are willing to bet on yourself against all odds. A crazy kind of belief that is completely illogical to most, like betting $100 on the Oakland Raiders winning the Super Bowl this year (well, not even the truest fans would do that!). This means, having the courage to sacrifice, to "go all in" as they say in poker and to invest much in oneself, even if it means many years of financial sacrifice and hardship. This means giving up the good to get the great and extraordinary life.
     
    The ability to pursue your dream with NO AFFIRMATION- is the most impressive
    characteristic about Obama, that 21 months ago, he had a dream to do something no one has ever accomplished and against many, even in his own party and African community who said it could not be done, conversations like "Are you crazy, you want to go up against the very popular and white Hillary Clinton at the young age of 47 with hardly any political or international security experience and you think you can win? Did you know that over 60% of the Democratic party is white and that the African vote only accounts for 10%?" Here is what was printed in Time on Jan 2007...
     
    Robert Ford, a South Carolina, African-American state senator, said supporting Obama was too risky for the Democratic Party. "Obama would need 43% of the white vote in some states to win, and that's humanly impossible," said Ford. "Black Americans in the South don't believe this country is ready to vote for a black President."
      
    Obama ended up winning not 43% of the white vote but 60%! Reality is often different than perception and maybe black America has doubted the American ability to see past skin color. I'm not surprised at all that Obama won, I was predicting it ever since the get go, not because of the issues, simply because he has a greater like ability factor- looks better and speaks better than McCain- case closed, he wins. In regards to a person achieving success in America, race is a non-issue although I know racism still exists. I'm not black or white, I'm Asian. In fact, I feel the African male has a more elevated status than the Asian man. What impresses me about Obama is his never say die attitude and the willingness to pursue his dream despite the cards being stacked against him.
     
    If we are waiting for someone or the government to drop $150,000 on our lap and say, "Here you go, now go after your dream" or expecting all our friends and loved ones to support us 110% and wish us nothing but happy thoughts, we might as well give up our dream now. Most likely, our journey will be lonely and with little or no help. In fact, if we are married, our spouse will probably think we are crazy or perhaps our parents will too!
     
    I like what Obama said in his acceptance speech, it was something like "We haven't done anything today, it just means we have a great opportunity." Well, we don't need affirmation to seize our opportunity because it has always been there. You just need a crazy belief in oneself, that will stick with you during your lonely journey to success to brave the unknown.
     
    Congrats to America and its ability to elect a person to the highest office of the land on the merits of his ideals and not the color of his skin. May the 44th, African President Obama be an inspiration to us all! I hope Obama does help heal some of the resentment felt by the African community towards white America. We can't change the past but the future we can and we did!
     
     
     

    2009 Scott Robert Next Level Workshops
    A revolutionary way of learning through personal mentorship 
     
    2008  was a phenomenal year for the Scott  Robert  Next Level World  Tour. We went to France, Spain, The Caribbean, California, New York & Canada. We are extremely pleased to see that many of our alumnus are prospering in their photography business regardless of economical situation.   Listen to their Success Stories and view slide shows
     
    2009 is gearing up to be even more outstanding with a new and improved program:
    The SR Next Level Learning Experience. Expand your business to new levels of success despite today's economic challenges. Our new format will consist of 4 days with practicum and lectures on 6 pillars. 
     
    I. Lighting
    II. Posing
    III. Composition
    IV. The Art of Post Processing
    V. The Business of Photography (Tactics and  Strategies)
    VI. 7 Principles For Living the Extraordinary Life
     
    2009 Workshops
     
     
     

    I currently use the below equipment, click for more info...
    Canon5D
    Canon24-105F4IS
    Canon70-200F4IS
    www.scottrobertstore.com toview more equipment recommendations

     
     

    Scott Robert
    Next Level
    Workshops
    Join the Revolution...
     
    2008 Workshop Images
     

     
    2009 WorldTour
    Las Vegas
    Venice, Italy
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Montreal, Canada
    Beijing, China
    Los Angeles, CA
    and more!
     
     

     
    my-story
     
    my-iphone
    new pics!
     
    my-face
     
    my-official
     
    my-family
     
    my-gear
     

     

     


    Scott Robert Lim's Facebook profile

Comments (32)

  • Thanks for your thoughts on what makes a successful journey/dream.

  • As Obama gave his speech, I was holding my son in my arms and told him, "you can be anything you want in America" and for the first time, I really believed it.

  • Scott, thanks for sharing your thoughts. I believe that we can and we need a leader that will inspire it's people. I agree we will always have race as a issue but regardless of the trails ahead in time and victories... America is an awesome plce to live. Your right about opportunity here and Im greatful for a nation that is by the people and for the people. This election showered that.

  • @kennyahn - That is awesome, I'm sure Obama inspired many other first thoughts too! I guess I'm an optimist because I've always felt that living in this great land of America, despite the racial inequality present growing up in the 60's and 70's- I knew the momentum of the American people would eventually get it better. I guess that is what faith and a dream starts from- belief in the unseen! Without optimism there is no hope. Thanks for sharing your awesome story!! Btw, bet your boy is 75 lbs now!!! We gotta catch up one of these days!

  • Hey Scott,

    It is  so refreshing to  read  your note on this beautiful  day. I agree with you  when you say that the ability to pursue your dream with NO AFFIRMATION- is the most impressive..." I also agree  with the  fact  that no one   of  whatever race  gender   etc...  should  wait for  one  of their  one  to get  elected.... to get started on their journey ..

    But one thing my friend only  a person  from African descent  can  understand   that  what  happen   yesterday was  more  than AMERICA electing a  black in  the white  house...  whether  it was 60% white  that voted  12 % black etc…

    When  you were  raised  with  history  denying    your contribution to society, to   the world, to science  ,  to art ... when you  were raise  with  the notion  that  you  came from  slavery  and  you perhaps  might not be as smart  as  the " white folks"  .. when you  were  raise hoping to find a way to "whiten"  your skin  and  I can go  on and on...

     I may have  not been raise   thinking  all this  because I was fortunate to have   a father who showed  me  the other  side of  the coin with every single history  book I was bringing  home from school.   He was  taking  his  time  to  RE- PROGRAM and teach me   about the great  kingdoms and civilization  that  I had as an heritage ..I was very fortunate  to have this.,...I cried  with my dad last night and he cried  because  he was denied many  opportunities in his time  because of his skin color ... ...  America  was  built on the  back  of NEGRO  SLAVES  who worked  in plantations without  rights  period,... and  that  not  so very long ago ..   NEGROES were not allow  to sit in a buses in AMERICA  and that not too long ago ..  no retribution,  no  excuses... no acknowledgement....   1 person  elected  in history will not  make  it for the past  ... however it might  be  a catalyst  for change  for   people  who were  jaded  and cynical about their experiences ....  the catalyst they needed   to begin their  journey .. the  father  figure they  never  had ...  ...  and yes  Barack  was not  elected  because  he was  black   this is not affirmative action BS ., He is  highly  educated,  intelligent, charismatic, handsome but  most importantly one of   the  most INSPIRATIONAL  LEADER  the  world  have seen  by  my standards thus far .. who was  able to unite  THE WORLD  despite our  differences under  1 ANTOM...  " YES WE CAN".... and  we did !

    ML

    http://www.marielyssa.com

  • There are many emotions in my heart from this election, and from reading your post, but the heaviest one is disappointment.  Not because we now have a black president - I agree that it is wonderful that a larger percentage of non-black Americans saw past skin color.  My disappointment is that a majority of Americans agree with the ideals that Mr. Obama supports.  And many of them Christians.....very sad.

    Having said that, I will pray for our new president daily.

  • @pettybunch - Well, there is no perfect candidate and American politcs is tough, it is like we are forced to color with only two colors red or blue and if your a Christian you have to color in blue and if you live in San Francisco you have to color with red. So who you vote for shouldn't paint you in a box because that is what you are implying- that you are not a good Christian if you didn't vote for McCain and that is a little short sighted and insults those strong Christians that voted for Obama. I'm not quite sure what issues you are talking about but I'm guesssing the issue of abortion and perhaps homosexual rights. However, whom you vote for shouldn't determine your level of Christianity because there are soooo many layers to a vote. One Christian might conceed gay rights in one candidate because he feels this candidate opposes war and wants to avoid less killing and destruction. Does this make a Christian less of a Christian? Our choice of vote should not have a strong bearing on Christianity. That is why I don't like to discuss politics because I need hours to justify my vote because every vote has a million layers to consider.

  • I rarely discuss politics, either. Just to be sure there is no confusion, I don't believe anything other than the belief in the work of Christ makes anyone more or less a Christian - I just think the areas we are alluding to affect our witness in this world.

  • @MLyssaD - Thanks again for your insightful comments and insights to the African community. This is exactly what we need, a constructive discussion and insight to deep feelings and emotions to help heal the divide and help us live with difference of opinions in a healthy context. Please take it that I didn't mean to lessen your cultural experience with Obama's election. I can understand the huge progresses that have been made with civil rights and how far we have come as a society. Remember when I busted out in tears in Spain when I talked about my journey?? So yes, to see the awful past and bright future within a few years is extremely powerful and inspiring to many people.

    You stated one comment that was kinda interesting to me...

    "1 person  elected  in history will not  make  it for the past  ... however it might  be  a catalyst  for change  for   people  who were  jaded  and cynical about their experiences ....  the catalyst they needed   to begin their  journey .. the  father  figure they  never  had ."

    I do agree, whatever means a person needs to begin their journey, by gosh that is wonderful and should not be discounted as valid and inspiring!!

    I also wanted to comment that yes, "1 person elected in history will not make up for the past..."

    For true healing to begin, I think there has to be grace extended and the act of FORGIVENESS is a must. Even if there were 1 trillion African people elected into office, that would NO WAY make up for the atrocities done to the Africans of the past or future and likewise the Germans could perform a trillion acts of kindness to the Jews and it still would not make up for the wrong of the holocaust.

    Yes, the African community and a lot of other ethnic communities were wronged in life but I feel like sometimes we still hold that against the white community even though a vast majority who call the shots today had nothing to do with those atrocities. Some of the most influential people of today are African and have been for decades, they are AMAZING AND INSPIRATIONAL in ALL WALKS OF LIFE- politicians, community leaders, athletes, musicians, artists, CEOs, scientists, actors, philosophers, authors, and the list goes on. And much of the white community has embraced these people with open and loving arms and have helped many of these African leaders in their journey. Just like the 60% of the white vote has put Obama into office. This, in many ways is a gesture for forgiveness from the white community. Is it enough??? Of course not but it is an outstretched hand to shake and helps begin the process of FORGIVENESS ON BOTH SIDES, African and White.

    Without MERCY AND FORGIVNESS, there is no healing, no hope of unity.

  • Scott, thanks for sharing your heart.  I pray that as we enter this next era of our country's history that we can see greater things.  Our country has had some aweful and terrible things in its past for many different groups, one for my ethnicity, not that long ago was the Chinese Exclusion Act.  I think it is easy to get down on our country sometimes, but I believe that we need to remember that America is still one of the best places to live, and that there are problems all over the world.  I hate that it seems so in fashion to say and believe that our country is such the "bad guy" and completely messed up.  We all need to take our own responsibilities here too and not just blame the system.  I believe that we can be at a crossroads here.  Not to discount the past, because we must see were we have come from but to look to the future and try to be better.  Sure we have had injustices and there have been some very bad ones, but those injustices must not and don't stop us from going forward.  And I am sorry but if one does not pursue their dream because they want to hold onto the past then who is really hurting them at that point? 

    To be honest I was not backing Obama (talk about being a minority) but as he is now our President, I will be praying that he has unlimited success in turning our country around.  In the end we are all Americans and need to remember that.  I also hope that in Obama, everyone can get the message that with work, sacrific, and perserverance it is possible for anyone in this great country to reach for their dreams.

    Thanks Scott for role you take with not just your students but with those around you, to inspire each person to find their hearts and dreams and reach for them with all their might.     

  • @scottrobert - 

    scott, very well said

  • You are  absoluty  right "Without MERCY AND FORGIVNESS, there is no healing, no hope of unity"

    Lesson  #1   that my  grandmother  thought me  at a very young  age I will never  forget  when  she told me the story  of  how merciful  she was to the people and  circumstances who took  her husdand  away and left her  to raise  6 kids by herself and run a business..  ..  and to see all that  she was  able  to accomplish and prosper with this  forgiveness  and mercy..... A great  lesson  that I  have  tried to emulate  for the past  20 years  in my  own reality and day to day  ..not easy  but I am working on it:)

    I do  believe  that  the " YES WE CAN" antom .... this  sense of unity  we all feel   as we relate to last night's events  whether  you, Scott are in the US  from  asian  descent  myself  in Canada  from african  descent ...  my  friend who just called me  from  Italy of  Indian descent  .. My  colleague  from marroccan (jew) descent ...  is  fostering  the  beginning of  the healing process  for a lot of people  no matter  what the background .. for the  people  who were  involve  in the african american  civil rights  movement  who saw  peers beaten and killed by the police  and  never  got  justice .. for the  parents  who got their son  killed in Irak for a cause  they  did not support   YES WE CAN is charged  with a message  of  hope  .. to forgive  move on and build a better  community for all. :) !!! An EXTRAORDINARY  COMMUNITY....

    L

  • I think Obama is the change that most of America wants and needs. I agree with Lyssa it is more significant for Africans for so many reasons and on so many levels some of which she touched upon. Hopefully though it will be a trigger for change in the African community around world and will at the very least inspire us to realise our true potential and take control of our own destinies. You're right, a person shouldn't have to wait until one of "their kind" gets elected to President to feel hope but when so many Africans are living outside of their true selves and have been taught to deny their identity I think we sometimes need a shock to the system to bring us back to our senses and breath life back into our existence. Other triggers brought that shock for me some years ago but for many Obama will be theirs right now. Personally the biggest significance of Obama's presidency has less to do with politics and more to do with family. The African family has been in decline for many years now so to have one leading the richest and most powerful country in the world is a powerful message and if nothing else will be a shining example and a model for us to follow.

  • Oh my  how did I miss that one!! ..  BANDELE ABSOLUTELY   right on  on that  point ..  the african family has been in decline  and  that  aspect  have even  been  pushed and promoted  through music sub culture phenomenon  i.e baby mama baby dady  and  all the clichés glamourizing   disrespect ... of  black love and  the  black family.. ..  What we saw yesterday .. yes will  have a HUGE impact  on this aspect ...  thanks for pointing that out.

    ML

    http://www.marielyssa.com

  • Thank you Scott for this perfect and shining example of split-lighting the male subject.

  • @BandeleZuberi 

    @MLyssaD - 

    Bandele, Much thanks to your insightful comments and I know you are well thought and educated in your remarks so I'm sure many people would be extremely interested in what you and Lyssa have to say. I know we have had long talks about such things and I always appreciate your insight and knowledge. I think it is very brave of you to discuss concerns with the African community and I am extremely glad that you feel Obama and his family can help with some of these issues. Of course every community has issues and concerns too.

    I think for many of us Asians with an extremly strong emphasis of family in our culture, we take it for granted and don't see ALL the benefits of it and how that support system has helped the Asian community to really prosper in America. It is a huge advantage that I am so thankful for- you both know first hand how I feel about my wife and family. I wouldn't be where I am without them!! So to imagine myself, trying to live my dream without their love and support would be almost an impossibility for me.

    I also identified with Obama in other ways too, first of all he is about my age and second his two beautiful girls remind me of my girls. I don't follow elections too much but this hit me when he walked out on stage with his family. I said to myself, dang, this dude is only two years older than me and he's changing the world- I want to do that, I'm a bit behind! LOL!!!

    Like you say B, the more I think about it, Obama was probably the right move for America and the world right now, especially if you believe that his family life can be a shining example to the African community! Even those on the other side of the voting spectrum have to agree what a positive example of family unity the Obama's are. Heck, the Crosby Show is long gone! LOL!

  • @tdaddie - hahaha, I was thinking of that too!!!! please don't tell all the world our secrets!!!

  • What an amazing day in American history! Dreams do come true! Did you all see how Oprah Winfrey revealed this week that she uses a vision board to visualize her goals and harness the power of intention? Oprah created a vision board, months ago, that emphasized Obama as president and the gown she intended to wear during his imagined inauguration.

    For anybody who doesn’t know, a vision board is collage of image that symbolizes a desired outcome. By looking at these images daily and imagining these desired outcomes – like accomplishing a goal – your brain becomes more honed in to making this reality. Many top athletes, entrepreneurs, presidents, and philanthropists have used vision boards to help them accomplish their goals.

    I know that on http://www.TheVisionBoardKit.com you can download a free chapter that includes the eight basic ingredients of a successful vision board.

  • My vision is  right next  to my bed i look at it  every morning everynight :)

  • i mean my vision board..I first  heard of this when  I saw the  movie the secret ...I had notes before etc... but the visual is just great:)!!

  • Great post and great discussion..!

  • I don't mean any disrespect to anyone. But why does everyone talk about the African community, Asian Community it's like hey, I'm from the photography community. My skin colour / heritage doesn't make me from any one community. It's a global stage out there, I'm from the human community. All the people who inhabit this earth are all spiritually my brothers, sisters, aunts and uncles. We all hope for the same future of sharing and caring for each other. I think reverse racism is no different to everyday racism. It's racism. I don't remember hearing Obama say he represents the African community. He always talked of a great day for America, the USA a "United" states of America. So let's not assume communities (which enforce barriers) should exist based on ones distant or even near future. We're all part of the same community and it's called humanity. I'm from Australia and we all watched with joy that America could get past colour... so let's get past it already !!

    Lets talk about photography Let's talk about how we can save this planet so it's actually livable. Let's get past this silly global economic meltdown which means nothing to the majority of the people in the world who are suffering from starvation, droughts etc... brought on by the greed of the minority - US (you and me) !! I know a lot of you are christian and good loving people. But sometimes we're so caught up in us that we forget who else we're affecting.

    ah enough preaching... I'm sorry.

  • @allgoodshots - I don't mind your comments at all and that is why these discussions are good because I can see we come from two completely different viewpoints. So it is good that we understand each other.

    By talking about communities does it in no way mean or imply racism. EVERY ONE BELONGS TO COMMUNITIES AND EACH COMMUNITY HAS THEIR SPECIAL NEEDS, ISSUES, CONCERNS, THINGS WE ARE PROUD ABOUT AS A GROUP.

    You are a photographer- you belong to the photography community. Do we not have needs that are different than plumbers, architects, politicians, accountants, etc. So if you talk about how the photography community is concerned and excited about the new Canon 5D that is coming out, is it racist?? Yes, we are excluding plumbers when we talk about cameras, so why don't we abolish the photography community? Every time photographers get together, they talk about photography and that is so disrespectful to those who are accountants so why don't we get rid of the photography community?? Getting rid of communities is an impossibility because we are defined by the many communities that we belong to.

    You mention you are a Christian like myself..... Why don't we get rid of the Christian community? Why not clump all the religions together and just call it the spiritual community. Of course not, being Christian has different issues than being Hindu, Muslim, Buddhist. Many people think Christians are narrow minded because we see salvation by ONLY HAVING A RELATIONSHIP WITH JESUS CHRIST. Well, this seems pretty elitist to most. Why do Christians always have to talk about Jesus? Why can't they accept other religions as valid and aren't why can't there be other ways to have a relationship with a creator?

    You live in Australia. You live in the Australian community, it has totally different need than people living in the USA. Do you have a Chinatown in Australia? Maybe you should get rid of the Chinatown because aren't we all just humans and culture should not matter? Do you have areas in Australia where homosexuals tend to live? Why don't you get rid of that community. We should all live together and mix up all the communities because we are just one human race.

    Do homosexuals have different issues than people who are heterosexual? Why do we have to talk about gays and straights all the time? Can't we just call everyone human?

    Every human belongs to many communities. So just because you belong to a community, doesn't mean your racist. If you are a part of the Aborigine community does that mean you can't care about those who are starving in this world? Of course not. So just because you belong and care about the issues of the communities that we live in, doesn't mean we are racist and can't care about others but COMMUNITIES DEFINE WHO WE ARE.

    Point number 2..... Communities are interconnected and must relate to each other in a healthy context. Take for example the Gay community and the Christian community. When it comes to education the Gay community wants schools to validate Gay Marriage and view it as and healthy family community. The Christian community sees it differently on the other hand. Both sides have concerns and there is CONSTANT TALK ABOUT EACH COMMUNITY. So what you are suggesting is like saying, "Why can't the Gays and Christians get along? Aren't we all humans? We should be fortunate that we have an educations system, many parts of the world don't even have schools so all this bickering is so stupid!!!"

    The African community, just like EVERY community has issues and concerns which make them unique and add to the human experience. They also have similar issues because of the way society viewed them and because of the similar upbringing and background, they have needs and concerns that are unique to them. For example, if you grew up in certain parts of remote China, you would not have the chance to be educated like a person who say grew up in Beijing, the capital of China. Just because we talk about the differences of each community and how we can help the person who is not educated doesn't mean that we are racist. WE ARE TRYING TO UNDERSTAND THE UNIQUE BACKGROUND OF EACH COMMUNITY AND ADDRESS THEIR NEEDS and IT DOESN'T MEAN WE ARE RACIST.

    So to abolish cultural communities is a HUGE MISTAKE because each community brings a unique flavor and contribution to the human experience. But it doesn't mean all communities are good, just like the community of people take drugs or the community that likes to sexually abuse small children, etc. That is why it is important to discuss the communities that we are in and how they interconnect with other communities and how we can help each other. It doesn't mean we are racists, it means we CARE.

  • I will assume you mean well with your comments and statements Robert but I do have some issues with how you express it.
    BLACK in the WHITE house
    Our 44th President of the United States is African- a big deal, yet not a big deal

    President Barack Obama is biracial. Half white and half black. He is not African but he is of African descent. Most people refer to him as a member of the African (American) community or the black community.

    I was disappointed when I read this sentence " I like what Obama said in his acceptance speech, it was something like "We haven't done anything today, it just means we have a great opportunity." Well, we don't need affirmation to seize our opportunity because it has always been there"

    Well I am glad you liked what he said but to quote him properly he said "This victory alone is not the change we seek - it is only the chance for us to make that change. And that cannot happen if we go back to the way things were. It cannot happen without you."

    A very important thing I learned from this election is that the words we choose can divide or unite us.

    Omar Casasola
    casasolaphoto@sbcglobal.net

  • @OmarCasasola - Thanks Omar by pointing these things out to my attention, but I would like to know more how I offended you or disappointed you. It seems it was a use of semantics and not my viewpoints. Please explain what viewpoints that you disagree with and WHY.

    Is Barack Obama not considered "black" by a vast majority?  Don't the Africans refer themselves as "black" in fact it was their community that wanted to describe themselves that way over the word "negro". Then they also wanted to refer themselves as African-American. But when talking to African people, they refer themselves as black and African. Why is it that every time I have to use the word African, I have to add the word "decent"??? it seem very unnecessary and laborious to me.

    I'm Chinese but also of Chinese decent but many people call me or describe me as Chinese, why can't I do that with someone who is African, Indonesian, Canadian, etc??? Does not the media describe him as "the first African-American to be elected president"? way more than "the first biracial to be elected president" Why? Because biracial can mean the mixture of any two races- it does not imply that he is African. It is a label that is correct but not as descriptive as saying he's African because that is a major accomplisment. There were many biracial or multiethnic presidents elected to the US but NONE that were African.

    I think people from all over the world like to call him African because this is what he has in common with Africans across the world-those from Canada, UK, Kenya (where his father was from). HE IS AFRICAN JUST LIKE I AM CHINESE.

    When I quoted him, I prefaced my quote by saying, "it was something like" meaning, I didn't know exactly what he said, but I liked what he meant- that voting him into the presidency didn't mean the job was finished- it meant that it gives us an opportunity to do great work. Just like we all have opportunities to be successful in life. The point was OPPORTUNITY and that we have it!

    I'm sorry that you think I was being disrespectful to him but I was not and I did think about the words I was choosing. Please tell me specifically how my wording was offensive I would welcome the opportunity to understand your perspective.

    Thank you so much for your concerns and comments.

  • Scott that was eloquent! Very well put. Here I am. A white, republican Christian and I voted for Obama. This man reaches across so many divides. He is a true leader. I believe together we can bring America around on so many levels. This was my first time voting for a democrat. I believe if they keep bringing us candidates like President Obama (has a nice ring to it, doesn't it?) it won't be my last. Right now our country is in the worst mess we've been in since the Depression. He is correct. It's going to take all of us working together to get us out. I truly believe he's the one God sent to lead us through these troubled times.

  • Omar....  I agree ...  we must unite  to progress ....

    Obama  is of African descent  like I am  of  African Descent .... Mainstream Society  REFERS  to us  as BLACK  despite  the fact that we have parts from white red  and  blue...  So from early  on in our lives  we identify ourselves  as  BLACK we  are reminded   and reminded  time after time that we are  black ...  this is   the categorization .. so Scott's  statement  refers  to  how we  as  a society have refered  to  people  like  Obama  myself and many  others  from  AFRICAN DESCENT!!! ---    BLACK PEOPLE :) !     From day one  President  Elect Obama have been  refered to as  a BLACK man ...  the 1st  Black  elected   president  of  the united state and  a G8 country ... no MEDIA  none  ever  had a headline stating the  1st  biracial  president .....  Information  was provided   to  clarify and inform  us on his diverse  heritage  ... however  mainstrean  portrays and  promotes a  black man  with a   black wife and black  kids who are about to  enter  a white house  that  was build  brick by brick  by generations of slaves of  AFRICAN DESCENT.... some may have  been  bi racial  but  1 drop  black blood made  u  a black man  my friend... so -- let's  be real  here !!!

    Nevertheless  unity   diversity   are values  that  are currently  emerging in our society  and  will be  the cornerstone  of the next  generation of  leaders the  millennials (GEN Y)  Historians Sociologist and  anthropologist   are already predicting  that  this  generation  might  bring racism  and  racial   reference to extinction  there  will simply  be  no more  words  in  their  vocabulary  to describe this ... Imagine.... I   think that one of  Obama turning  point   and  MAJOR speeeches  is the one  he delivered on race ---..I included a  small excerpt  of the transcript I found; ( it is a very nice  complement to the  article u shared on identity)  By far ... the best written  on the  topic .. no BS   the real deal-- and yes  he does refer  to  the richness and diversity of his heritage

    For  more:  http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/23690567/

    As such, Reverend Wright's comments were not only wrong but divisive, divisive at a time when we need unity; racially charged at a time when we need to come together to solve a set of monumental problems - two wars, a terrorist threat, a falling economy, a chronic health care crisis and potentially devastating climate change; problems that are neither black or white or Latino or Asian, but rather problems that confront us all.

    But the truth is, that isn't all that I know of the man. The man I met more than twenty years ago is a man who helped introduce me to my Christian faith, a man who spoke to me about our obligations to love one another; to care for the sick and lift up the poor. He is a man who served his country as a U.S. Marine; who has studied and lectured at some of the finest universities and seminaries in the country, and who for over thirty years led a church that serves the community by doing God's work here on Earth - by housing the homeless, ministering to the needy, providing day care services and scholarships and prison ministries, and reaching out to those suffering from HIV/AIDS.

    "People began to shout, to rise from their seats and clap and cry out, a forceful wind carrying the reverend's voice up into the rafters….And in that single note - hope! - I heard something else; at the foot of that cross, inside the thousands of churches across the city, I imagined the stories of ordinary black people merging with the stories of David and Goliath, Moses and Pharaoh, the Christians in the lion's den, Ezekiel's field of dry bones. Those stories - of survival, and freedom, and hope - became our story, my story; the blood that had spilled was our blood, the tears our tears; until this black church, on this bright day, seemed once more a vessel carrying the story of a people into future generations and into a larger world. Our trials and triumphs became at once unique and universal, black and more than black; in chronicling our journey, the stories and songs gave us a means to reclaim memories that we didn't need to feel shame about…memories that all people might study and cherish - and with which we could start to rebuild."

    That has been my experience at Trinity. Like other predominantly black churches across the country, Trinity embodies the black community in its entirety - the doctor and the welfare mom, the model student and the former gang-banger. Like other black churches, Trinity's services are full of raucous laughter and sometimes bawdy humor. They are full of dancing, clapping, screaming and shouting that may seem jarring to the untrained ear. The church contains in full the kindness and cruelty, the fierce intelligence and the shocking ignorance, the struggles and successes, the love and yes, the bitterness and bias that make up the black experience in America.

    These people are a part of me. And they are a part of America, this country that I love."

  • I started  writing Scott and  u added your bit LOL!!!   Case and point:)

  • Well said Scott and I really enjoyed reading this post.  I was covering the Obama Rally that night and I was awe struck at the feelings of joy and love that were expressed by the people in attendance.  Everyone, regardless of their socio-economic status, ethnic background, or gender; was there arm-in-arm cheering as the night unfolded.  I can't tell you how many hugs I received as everyone was literally hugging one another.  And, if we can come together like that for one night, we can come together like that as a nation for many nights.

    This election really seemed to spark a sense of hope, not just in America, but all over the world.  We have to seize this moment and never forget what it felt like to be a people without barriers.  The forces that profit from division have not gone away and as time elaspes it will be easy to return to our old ways.  That's why conversations like this are so important. 

    Love truly conquers all and a few people full of hope can overcome thousands full of despair.  It's hard to put into words what I experienced that night but seeing so many people full of joy and hope was awe inspiring.  I've discovered over my lifetime that if you give people the "space" to be loving people, they will be.  So, maybe this election has given us as a nation the "space" to be the loving people we know deep down inside we can be.

    With your permission, here's a link to my slideshow from that night: 

    http://www.samuelbarr.com/journal

    May it be a source of inspiration as we keep this conversation and movement of hope moving forward.  Thank you again for a great post and for sharing your heart with us all.  You're a special dude and I'm grateful that our paths have crossed. 

    Peace and you know I love you brother!

    -Sam

  • @SamTheMan - 

    Sam, so awesome that you captured that event!! I forgot you lived in Chicago!! That must have been awesome to witness first hand. Thanks again for adding your slideshow!! Beautiful images!!

  • Thank you Scott, I really appreciate it.  And, I used a heavy dose of your Lightroom Presets as they are awesome!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment