January 10, 2009

  • Success in Hard Times



    Scott Robert photography
    a brand new look at life www.scottrobertphotography.com [new images and music]


    Finding Success in Hard Times

     


    Congrats to Erik Vail

    One of the best ways to increase business is to simply be world class in what you do. Anyone can lower their price but to keep your upper hand and stay afloat in hard times, you need to be great at what you do. I always mention to people getting into the wedding photography business that you have to push yourself to be in the top 5% if you are going to be successful. Which means out of 100 photographers, you have to be better then 95 of them. Simply lowering your price will not guarantee an increase in business because people are always searching for the best value.

    Take for example Zune and iPod- portable mp3/media players. If Zune and iPod both discounted their products by 50% I would assume iPod would still sell a heck of a lot more than Zune. I'm not sure anyone would buy a Zune! Why? because iPod is perceived as higher up on the quality ladder. Be at the top of the ladder and control the market and your sales. When hard times strike, people still purchase value. Higher quality products at lower prices are always more attractive than mediocre products at lower prices.

    Erik came to one of my workshops in Canada last year. After talking to him, I knew he was concerned about being the best. His father who also is an amazing and respected photographer in the industry, has taught him so much and to be even mentioned as one of Erik's influences is very humbling and such an honor for me. It is so rewarding to see many of my students climbing that ladder and becoming the best at what they do and finding healthy doses of success. I see nothing but blue sky for Erik because he is committed to being the best and I'm glad I can help him in a small way.

    Go to www.scottrobertworldtour.com to here what he had to say about one of my workshops.Thanks Erik for being an inspiration.



    I'm Back!!

    I know I have been away for awhile but I plan to get my blog up and running in 2009. There is a lot of exciting stuff I want to blog about, including more details about my workshops. I am sorry to say that my Las Vegas workshop is SOLD OUT but since I have room for 20 more students on Sunday, I will have a special sign up for those who just want to learn about post processing. It will include my LR set of presets and my PS3 action set!
    Stay tuned for more details.

    I am planning to post all my 2008 wedding slideshows by Feb so stay tuned for a bunch of wedding imagery!

    I hope you all had a wonderful Holiday Season and I wish you all the best in 2009.




    I currently use the below equipment, click for more info...
    Canon5D
    Canon24-105F4IS
    Canon70-200F4IS
    www.scottrobertstore.com toview more equipment recommendations



     
     


    Scott Robert
    Next Level
    Workshops
    Join the Revolution...
     
    2008 Workshop Images
     

     
    2009 World Tour
    Las Vegas SOLD OUT
    Venice, Italy
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Montreal, Canada
    Beijing, China
    Los Angeles, CA
    and more!
     
     

     
    my-story
     
    my-face
     
    my-official
     
    my-family
     
    my-gear
     

     

     



    Scott Robert Lim's Facebook profile


Comments (11)

  • That's great news!  I'm going to be out of the loop for a while but I'm choosing to use this time to refine my style and surround myself with people who love what they do.  Thanks for being an inspiration!

  • success in hard times, comes from a heck lot of hard work!

    thanks for sharing scott! and im glad u're back : ))

    ciao~

  • Congrats to Erik!  I am looking forward to '09 and hearing about everyone's success!

  • Scott,
    Happy New Year! What a great post to see a fellow photographer reach a high level of photography and be recognized as such. Thanks for sharing the encouraging story. I can't wait till Vegas, it's coming up fast.

  • Happy New year Scott!
    Wow, what an inspiration it is to just read that! Thanks for sharing your wisdom and expertise! Pushes me to work hard on my art.

  • Congratulations Erik!!!  Right on Scott!! Success is determined by perspective,state of mind philosophy and character .. regardless of the economy thanks for the reminder... something that is so easy to forget with the media and our environment!!

    L

  • Scott, I wish I were upgrading to CS4 this time so I could once again help you keep your actions current with the latest version of photoshop, but like you I am hardly feeling a need or impulse to buy Photoshop CS4... But let's keep in touch if there are any other technical chores I can take care of for you!

    I wish you much success in 2009!

    =Matt=

  • I personally would rather be rich than famous. But hey, take what you can get.

    Kudos to both of you!

    Todd
    Luminaire Photography

  • I personally would rather be rich than famous. But hey, take what you can get.

    Kudos to both of you!

    Todd
    Luminaire Photography

  • @LuminairePhotography - 

    hmmm, I think your missing the point here Todd, it is about being the best and staying in business during hard times! But, you are right, being the best at something often brings fame and fortune but that should never be the driving motivation to do something.

  • Scott--

    Oops! I was referring to "famed photographer Scott Robert Lim." And I was being a bit facetious. I was just hoping that wasn't going to your head or anything. Ha!

    It looks like Erik is doing great. Good for him!

    As I said, a big kudos to both of you!

    --Todd

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment