July 7, 2007

  • Beating the Odds

       

    Scott Robert photography
    view my official website www.scottrobertphotography.com

    Beating the Odds

    Jinyan Liu

    Meet again my friend Jinyan. You may remember her from the photo below

    38_IMG_8096

    She is the sister-law of my friend Karen

    Karen

    view last years slideshow of her family *click here*


    An Inspiration...
     
    Having an artistic career is one of the hardest things in life to accomplish. An artist probably has a less than one percent chance of making it and it is the hardest career path one can choose. Whenever I know someone who pursues this path, I try to encourage them as much as possible because I know the chances of making it are very slim. I admire those who take risks in life and take on great challenges.
     
    Meet my friend Jinyan, she is the sister in law of my friend Karen. You may remember the slideshow of her family last year **click here**  . Jinyan is pursuing an acting career which she really loves. Not only are the odds stacked against her, look what she is managing...
     
    1. Adjusting to married life (married to my friend Jonathan, brother of Karen)
    2. Recently moved from Beijing, China and adjusting to a new culture and way of life
    3. Learning to master a new language although she can understand and speak English very well.
    4. Works in the evenings.
    5. Attends Grad school.
     
    She is an inspiration to me because she is a go-getter and very ambitious. Living in America I sometimes forget the ample opportunities I have. I wonder if I'm maximizing my time and doing all that I can do and taking advantage of all the wonderful resources I've been blessed with.
     

    Never Give Up
     
    Brian Tracy states that most of the people in the top 10% were at one time in the bottom 10%. To be successful, one almost has to have a tough past. Many people immigrating to America from third world counties will become very successful in America partly because they see all the opportunities we have that they didn't have in their country and often work harder than us Americans born here. For example, becoming a millionaire in India is a lot harder than becoming a millionaire in America. The highest percentage of a group of people who are millionaires are immigrants from Russia- something like 30% which is astonishing to me. When we go through trials and hard times, it actually helps us become better, more complete people. The bible talks about this in James Chapter 1.
     
    A group of very successful, self-employed millionaires, some making $300,000 per month where asked, "What is the one quality do you find the most helpful in achieving success?" many of them answered, "Never give up".
     
    Below is a short 2.5 min film Jinyan was in to promote John Woo's new video game. On her own she found this opportunity, auditioned and won the role in this very high quality short- I believe the director/writer has won an Emmy. I wish Jinyan the best and I know she will be successful- her ambition and drive is an encouragement to me and I know whatever she ends up doing, she will be a success in life.



     
     



    What's In theWorks....

    Preview Photos- Jen and Jason in Napa Valley, CA

    Slideshow- Melissa andTony

    Slideshow- Jessie andJeff

    June 27-Chicago 1 day workshop,sign upnow!

    July 1- Wedding in Napa withJunshien

    July 7- Julieanne & Mark (totally "green") Wedding at the beach in Camarillo, CA

    July 11- Photo session with Anjelah Johnson-actress, model, comedian,etc...

    July 14-Sienny and Minh Wedding in SanFrancisco

    July 22- Michael & Annie Wedding inSanta Barbara

    July 23-30 Paris!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    To view comments and updated post of this entry**clickhere** 

    New Feature- Non Xanga members can commenttoo!


    Other notes:If you are interested incoming to a photography workshop and learning from the best in thebusiness- www.scottrobertnextlevel.com


     Subscribe in areader

     
     
     
    The ultimate learning experience for emergingpro photographers...
     
    - 4 daylearning tours from master photographers
     
    July 25-29
    Paris,France
    Sept9-12
    Springfield,MO
     
    - 1 daybusiness and
    photoshopworkshops
    around thecountry
    Finda workshop
     
    06/27Chicago,IL 
     
     
     
     


    GearIuse:

    LearnPhotoshop

    IMG_0740web
    MyStory*click here*


    Subscribe! Getthisblogsent to your email




Comments (7)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment